Storytime Share – Social Studies: History 1

Standard: Social Studies: History

Specific skill focused on: Routines (Bedtime)

 

Song: “Shake My Sillies Out” (Raffi, Singable Songs for the Very Young)

Book: Bedtime Is Canceled by Cece Meng

Talk about bedtime routines

Fingerplay: “It’s Bedtime” (Susan M. Dailey)

Book: Jammy Dance by Rebecca Janni

Song: “Bouncin’ on the Bed” (Baby Loves Jazz, Greatest Hits Vol. 1-2)

Book: Bedtime Bunnies by Wendy Watson

Song: “Wimoweh (The Lion Sleeps Tonight)” (Laurie Berkner, Whaddaya Think of That?)

Book: Max & Milo Go to Sleep! by Heather Long

Activity:  Bedtime Routine Worksheet (Instructions: Cut out activity strips and glue beside numbers on worksheet in the order the activities occur during the bedtime routine each night)

Thoughts:  When I put together the Bedtime Routine Worksheet, I just naturally listed “Read” as one of the steps.  It wasn’t until talking to one of my storytime moms that I realized reading books isn’t always a part of the nighttime schedule for all kids.  I mean, I knew that not all children are read to at bedtime, but I had assumed that all of our storytime kids are.  So, I’m glad I included it since it got at least one mom thinking about including books at bedtime.

One thought on “Storytime Share – Social Studies: History 1

  1. Pingback: Area of Development – Social Studies: History | Pre-K Read and Play

Leave a Reply

