Storytime Share – Early Literacy: Print Awareness 1

Standard: Early Literacy: Print Awareness

Specific skill focused on: Writing

 

Song: “Shake My Sillies Out” (Raffi, Singable Songs for the Very Young)

Book: Bunny Cakes by Rosemary Wells

Song: “Can’t Wait to Celebrate” (Jim Gill, Jim Gill’s Irrational Anthem)

Book: Ten Things I Love about You by Daniel Kirk

Song: “Mail Myself to You” (Alastair Moock, These Are My Friends)

Book: Click, Clack, Moo: Cows That Type by Doreen Cronin

Fingerplay: “Here Is My Book” (unfortunately I don’t remember where I originally found this fingerplay)

Here is my book (place hands with palms together)

I open it wide (open hands like opening a book)

To read all the stories that are inside

Book: A Splendid Friend, Indeed by Suzanne Bloom

Song: “A Very Simple Dance” (Sesame Street, Bert & Ernie Sing-Along)

Activity: Letter Writing

I really love this activity because it’s simple and uses materials that I already have on hand. I take any unused cards, stationery, and envelopes I have and lay them out for the kids to use along with crayons and pencils. I let the kids write letters, draw pictures, whatever they want to do.  Some kids actually write letters that they end up mailing to friends or family, others just practice writing their names, and others draw pictures (just like Max in Bunny Cakes).  What’s important is that the kids are learning that writing is a way that we communicate.  They’re also developing their fine motor skills and practicing holding a pencil the correct way.

Thoughts:

I’ve done a similar storytime before, and these are a couple more titles I’ve used: Love, Mouserella by David Ezra Stein and Backseat A-B-See by Maria Van Lieshout

 

One thought on “Storytime Share – Early Literacy: Print Awareness 1

  1. Pingback: Area of Development – Early Literacy: Print Awareness | Pre-K Read and Play

Leave a Reply

