Storytime Share – Science: Life Science 1

Standard: Science: Life Science

Specific skill focused on: Five Senses

 

Song: “Shake My Sillies Out” (Raffi, Singable Songs for the Very Young)

Book: Cold, Crunchy, Colorful: Using Our Senses by Jane Brocket

Talk about the five senses

Rhyme: “My Senses” (Unknown Source)

These are my eyes that let me see

This is my tongue that tastes for me

These are my ears that help me hear

My hand and skin feel things that are near

This is my nose that helps me smell

My senses teach me very well

Book: Five for a Little One by Chris Raschka

Song: “My Five Senses” (David Kisor, Becoming My Own Me)

Book: Rain by Manja Stojic

Song: “Rain is Falling Down” (video on Early Learning Burnaby wiki)

Book: Senses on the Farm by Shelley Rotner

Song: “Get Up Up Up” (Farmer Jason, A Day at the Farm with Farmer Jason)

Activity: The Five Senses mini book from Kizclub website

Thoughts: I use books from Jane Brocket’s Clever Concepts series quite often for storytime. She uses text that is accessible for preschoolers and very descriptive. The photographs used to illustrate the concepts are clear and bright. Great nonfiction series for teaching concepts.

One thought on “Storytime Share – Science: Life Science 1

  1. Pingback: Area of Development – Science: Life Science | Pre-K Read and Play

Leave a Reply

