Storytime Share – Social Studies: Economics 2

Standard: Social Studies: Economics

Specific skill focused on: Money

 

Song: “Shake My Sillies Out” (Raffi, Singable Songs for the Very Young)

Book: Benny’s Pennies by Pat Brisson

Song: “Pay Me My Money Down” (Dan Zanes & Friends, Night Time!)

Book: Bunny Money by Rosemary Wells

Note: I copied the bunny money from the front of the book to make flannel pieces. As Max and Ruby spent the money in the story, I took money off the flannel board as a visual representation. Actually, today the kids wanted to help me, so they ended up taking the money down for me.

Song: “Jumping and Counting” (Jim Gill, The Irrational Anthem)

Book: Start Saving, Henry! by Nancy Carlson

Song: “4 Nickels and a Dime” (Melissa Green, Sing Loud!)

Book: Little Croc’s Purse by Lizzie Finlay

Activity 1: Coin Sorting

For this activity, I put four paper plates on a table, labeled “Pennies,” “Nickels,” “Dimes,” and “Quarters.” Then I placed plastic coins I bought from the dollar store in the middle of the table and let the kids sort the coins onto the appropriate plates.

 

Activity 2: Coin Rubbing

I used heavy card stock to make eight cards. Then I glued coins (pennies, nickels, dimes, and quarters) to the cards, two of each – one for the front of the coin and another for the back. Then kids used crayons to make rubbings of the coins on their Coin Rubbing Worksheet.

 

 

 

One thought on “Storytime Share – Social Studies: Economics 2

  1. Pingback: Area of Development – Social Studies: Economics | Pre-K Read and Play

Leave a Reply

