Storytime Share – Math: Problem Solving and Analyzing Data 2

Standard: Math: Problem Solving and Analyzing Data

Specific skill focused on: Division/Sharing

 

Song: “Shake My Sillies Out” (Raffi, Singable Songs for the Very Young)

Book: The Doorbell Rang by Pat Hutchins

Song: “A Cookie As Big As My Head” (Lunch Money, Dizzy)

Book: Divide and Ride by Stuart J. Murphy

Flannel: “Pirate Panda” 

I made felt animals to go along with the Pirate Panda story from the Enriching Mathematics website.

Book: Lost. Found. by Marsha Diane Arnold

Song: “Dancing Scarf Blues” (Miss Carole, Dancing Feet)

 

Activity: Sharing worksheet from Great! Schools website and Sharing Is Caring worksheet from Smart-Kids website
Thoughts: This is the first time I’ve tried this storytime, so I was a little bit nervous. To work well, I really needed the kids to participate, which they did (yay!). I was also a little unsure about how abstract the concept of division would be to a preschool audience. I used lots of visual aids to bring it to that level. For both The Doorbell Rang and Divide and Ride I used felt pieces on the flannel board to further illustrate what was happening as I read the stories. I also approached it in the form of sharing, a concept preschoolers are very familiar with. Overall, I thought it went really well. We did have a small group today, so that helped, too.

One thought on “Storytime Share – Math: Problem Solving and Analyzing Data 2

  1. Pingback: Area of Development – Math: Problem Solving and Analyzing Data | Pre-K Read and Play

Leave a Reply

