Storytime Share -Social Studies: Human Interactions/Culture 3

Standard: Social Studies: Human Interactions/Culture

Specific skill focused on: Rules

Song: “Shake My Sillies Out” (Raffi, Singable Songs for the Very Young)

Book: How to Be Friends with a Dragon by Valeri Gorbachev

Song: “Shake It! Shake It!” (Mar Harman, Music Makes Me Wanna Move)

Book: This Moose Belongs to Me by Oliver Jeffers

Song: “Moose on the Loose” (Ozomatli, Ozokidz)

Book: Read It, Don’t Eat It! by Ian Schoenherr

Flannel: “Book Bear” 

This flannel story is similar to the “Little Mouse” flannel that can be found in multiple resources.  In that flannel, you hide a mouse behind houses of various colors and have the children guess where the mouse is hiding.  In this version, I hide a bear, which I call “Book Bear”, behind one of eight book-shaped flannel pieces and have the children find him.  We’re fortunate enough to have a die cut machine at my library, so I used our book shape die cut to make eight book pieces, each a different color.

Before I begin the flannel with the children I explain to them how it works, hiding the bear behind one of the books as I talk.  Then I place the books on the flannel one at a time, being careful not to let them see which one has the bear behind it.  After the books are all on the board, I go through the colors with the kids and then let them start guessing.  With each guess, I point to the particular book, and ask them, “Is Book Bear behind the (insert color) book?”  Then we chant together, “Book Bear, Book Bear, are you under there?”  Then I pull the book off to reveal either a blank space or Book Bear.  I usually try to finagle the game so that Book Bear is under the last book I remove.  This flannel story (and its many variations) is ALWAYS a hit, and kids of all ages love it.

Book: Never Ask a Bear by Louise Bonnett-Rampersaud

Activity: Bear Puppet/Bookmark

Using our die cut machine, I made Teddy Bear finger puppets out of white paper, which I let the kids decorated as they liked.

One thought on “Storytime Share -Social Studies: Human Interactions/Culture 3

  1. Pingback: Area of Development – Social Studies: Human Interactions/Culture | Pre-K Read and Play

Leave a Reply

