Storytime Share – Social Studies: Geography 4

Standard: Social Studies: Geography

Specific skill focused on: Winter Clothing

 

Song: “Shake My Sillies Out” (Raffi, Singable Songs for the Very Young)

Book: The Most Perfect Snowman by Chris Britt

Song: “I’m a Little Snowman” 

sung to: “I’m a Little Teapot

I’m a little snowman round and fat

Here are my buttons and here is my hat

When the sun comes out, I can not stay

I just simply melt away

Book: Three Little Kittens by Jerry Pinkney

Fingerplay: “Hands on Shoulders” from Loving2Learn

Song: “Put Your Hands Up in the Air” (Hap Palmer, Learning Basic Skills Through Music, vol. 1)

Book: Little Owl’s Orange Scarf by Tatyana Feeney

Song: “WhoHoo Could I Be” (Raffi, Owl Singalong)

Fingerplay: “Dressing for Winter Weather” (Source Unknown)

Let’s put on our mittens and button up our coats

Wrap a scarf snugly around our throats

Pull on our boots and fasten the straps

Then pull on tightly our warm winter caps

Then open the door and out we go

Into the soft and feathery snow

Book: Joseph Had a Little Overcoat by Simms Taback

Song: “Snow Day” (The Fresh Beat Band, The Fresh Beat Band Vol 2.0)

Activity: Snowy Day picture from “What Should I Wear?” worksheet set from Kizclub website

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

